Julian Cope – deluxe edition of St Julian out 4 February


Album reissue: St Julian by Julian Cope
Release date: 4 February 2013
Label: Universal

Saint Julian was the first album recorded by Julian Cope for Island Records, following his two albums on the Mercury label.

Encouraged by his new manager, Cope changed his image: cutting his hair, wearing rocker’s leathers and embracing a “Rock God” perspective (as well as investing in a bizarre climbable microphone stand (with integral steps).

To record and tour the album, Cope put together a new backing group, this featured lead guitarist Donald Ross Skinner and drummer Chris Whitten and James Eller (who’d played alongside Cope on the second Teardrop Explodes album, Wilder) and Cope himself on vocals and rhythm guitar. For the album, Cope also played keyboards under the alias of “Double DeHarrison”.

Several songs on the album originated from much earlier than the others. Screaming Secrets had been a Teardrop Explodes song which never made it to album, while Spacehopper dated back to late 1970s writing sessions with Ian McCulloch.

The album’s new songs abandoned the collapsing psychedelic styles of Fried in favour of a crisp, punchier and more structured sound, drawing partially on Cope’s professed love for Detroit heavy rock acts such as early Alice Cooper.

Early sessions were supervised by Ramones producer Ed Stasium and delivered the songs World Shut Your Mouth (which became Cope’s biggest solo hit, reaching #19 in the UK in 1986), Pulsarand Spacehopper. The remaining album sessions were produced by Warne Livesey. The parent album was well received and generated two more singles (Trampolene and Eve’s Volcano).

This deluxe version of the album contains all the B-side and remixes which have been sequenced by Julian himself. With notes by Ian Harrison and updated art this is a great testament to one of Julian Cope‘s best and most-loved albums.

Saint Julian Deluxe Edition – track listing

Disc 1 

01. Trampoline
02. Shot Down
03. Eve’s Volcano
04. Spacehopper
05. Planet Ride
06. World Shut Your Mouth
07. Saint Julian
08. Pulsar
09. Screaming Secrets
10. A Crack in the Clouds

Disc 2

01. I’ve Got Levitation
02. Umpteenth Unnatural Blues
03. Disaster
04. Warwick the Kingmaker
05. Non-Alignment Pact
06. Mock Turtle
07. Almost Beautiful Child (I & II)
08. Transporting
09. Trampoline Warne Out Mix
10. World Shut Your Mouth Trouble Funk Mix
11. Pulsar Nx Live
12. Shot Down Live
13. Eve’s Volcano Covered in Sin/Vulcano Lungo 12″ Remix
14. Spacehopper – Annexe

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!